Contested races to watch in the Nov. 8 election.

October 4, 2022

Contested races to watch in the Nov. 8 election.

OCEANA COUNTY — Contested races on the ballot in the Tuesday, Nov. 8, election include the following:

*R is republican; D is Democrat; I is incumbent; and NPA is no party affiliation.

State Senator for the 32nd District: one four-year term

Jon Bumstead (R)

Terry Sabo (D)

Representative for Michigan’s 102nd District: one two-year term.

Kurt VanderWall (R)

Brian Hosticka (D)

Oceana County Board of Commissioners: 

Fourth District, which includes Colfax Township Crystal, Leavitt, Newfield  and Weare townships. One two-year term.

Paul Erickson (R) (I)

James Allen Draper (NPA)

Fifth District, which includes Grant, Greenwood and Otto townships. One two-year term.

Robert Walker (R) (I)

Michael Berg (NPA)

Hart Public Schools Board of Education: Four four-year terms. NPA

Andrew Dale Carter (I)

Chad Coker (I)

Kayla Dennert

Irma Hinojosa (I)

Jason LaFever

Mark Looman

Pentwater Public School Board of Education: Three four-year terms. NPA.

Tracy Blamer

Adam Lamb

Kelsey Prescott (I)

Vaughn Thurston-Cox

Shelby Public Schools Board of Education: Two six-year terms, NPA

Jason Fleming (I)

Karen Rice (I)

Cathy A. Scouten 

Jason Scott 

Erin Stark

Hart City Council: Two four-year terms, NPA 

Catalina Burillo (I)

Amanda L. Klotz (I)

Fred Rybarz Jr. (I)

Kris Trygstad (I)

There are two partial terms with no candidates who filed to be on the ballot.

Hesperia Village Council: Three four-year terms, NPA

Don Bostrom

Stephanie Halverson (I)

Joyce McDonald (I)

Mackenzie Pennington

Newfield Township Treasurer: one partial term ending Nov. 20, 2024:

Amanda Hunter (R)

Tabitha Druso NPA

Rothbury Village Council: three four-year terms, NPA

Autum Bridget Drake (I)

Jim Fekken Jr. (I)

Robert Fulljames 

Dylan Zuniga 

Shelby Village President: one two-year term, NPA

Paul Inglis (I)

Robert Glover

Walkerville Village Council: three four-year terms, NPA

Sue Budde

Ernest Gilbert, Jr. (I)

Jennifer Metts 

Barbara Yancey (I)

Please consider helping to fund local news. Mason County Press and Oceana County Press are available for free thanks to the generous support of our advertisers and individuals. Three ways to help us: Venmo: @MasonCountyPress; Paypal:; Mail a check to PO BOX 21, Scottville, MI 49454.

This story is copyrighted © 2022, all rights reserved by Media Group 31, LLC, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454. No portion of this story or images may be reproduced in any way, including print or broadcast, without expressed written consent.

As the services of Media Group 31, LLC are news services, the information posted within the sites are archivable for public record and historical posterity. For this reason it is the policy and practice of this company to not delete postings. It is the editor’s discretion to update or edit a story when/if new information becomes available. This may be done by editing the posted story or posting a new “follow-up” story. Media Group 31, LLC or any of its agents have the right to make any changes to this policy. Refer to Use Policy for more information.