Marijuana sparks ballot questions for Tuesday’s election.

May 2, 2022

Marijuana sparks ballot questions for Tuesday’s election.

Please consider helping to fund local news. Mason County Press and Oceana County Press are available for free thanks to the generous support of our advertisers and individuals. Three ways to help us: Venmo: @MasonCountyPress; Paypal:; Mail a check to PO BOX 21, Scottville, MI 49454. 

By Allison Scarbrough, Editor.

HART — Marijuana is a hot topic in the Tuesday, May 3, election.

Newfield Township voters will be asked to recall four township board members due to a marijuana controversy. Shelby Township voters will decide if they want to add an ordinance that would allow marijuana establishments in the township. Pentwater village voters will determine if they want to repeal a chapter of the ordinance code that would prohibit medical and recreational marijuana dispensaries.

Newfield Supervisor Joan David, Clerk Nancy Conley and trustees John Clark and Richard Roberson are targeted in the recall effort. 

The language for the petitions reads: “On May 18, 2021, (Joan David, Nancy Conley, John Clark and Richard Roberson) voted ‘yes’ to approve a resolution to increase the number of Class C marijuana grow permits from 20 permits available in Newfield Township to 50 permits available in Newfield Township. The resolution (5-21) passed 4 to 1.”

David, a Republican, is being challenged by Nicholas Allen Maynard, who has no party affiliation in Tuesday’s election. 

Conley, also a Republican, is challenged by Francine Grysen, who is running with no party affiliation.

Roberson, a Democrat, and Clark, a Republican, are challenged by David M. Herin and Scott Parks, who are both running with no party affiliation.

The petitions were filed by Jim Draper of Newfield Township, according to Oceana County Clerk Amy Anderson. 

Two other marijuana-related issues will appear on Tuesday’s ballot in Oceana County.

The Shelby Township ballot question reads as follows:

“A proposal to amend Shelby Township Ordinances to add a new ordinance (marihuana establishments) to authorize marihuana establishments, and to repeal inconsistent ordinances, including but not limited to, Prohibition of Marihuana Establishments Ordinance, 120318-1. 

This proposed ordinance would: 

  • Authorize the type and number of marihuana facilities and establishments allowed in the township. 
  • Provide standards and procedures to approve the type and number of marihuana establishments. 
  • Repeal inconsistent ordinances, including but not limited to, Prohibition of Marihuana Establishments Ordinance, 120318-1. 

Should this proposal be adopted? 

[ ] YES 

[ ] NO”

The Village of Pentwater’s ballot question reads as follows:

“Shall the Village of Pentwater repeal Chapter 115 of the Code of Ordinances, titled Medical Marijuana and Marijuana Establishments and replace it with a new ordinance that would completely prohibit medical and recreational provisioning centers and retailers in the Village of Pentwater as such establishments are defined by the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act (“MRTMA”), MCL 333.27951 et seq. and the Michigan Medical Marijuana Facilities Licensing Act (“MMFLA”), MCL  333.27951 et seq., while retaining uses previously permitted under the Medical Marijuana Act, MCL  333.27951 et seg.?”

Voters in Claybanks, Grant, Greenwood and Otto townships will vote on a Muskegon Intermediate School District special education millage, and Weare Township voters will cast ballots on a Mason County Central school district bond proposal.

Election results will not be reported on election night, said Clerk Anderson. The canvassed results will be available following the Oceana County Board of Canvassers meeting Wednesday, May 3.

Because this election is not associated with a state or federal election, the precincts are allowed to bring in the results the following morning prior to 11 a.m.,” explained Anderson. “As they come in, we will post the unofficial results.”

Precincts with ballot questions — Claybanks, Grant, Greenwood, Newfield, Otto, Pentwater, Shelby precincts 1 and 2 and Weare — will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

This story is copyrighted © 2022, all rights reserved by Media Group 31, LLC, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454. No portion of this story or images may be reproduced in any way, including print or broadcast, without expressed written consent.

As the services of Media Group 31, LLC news services, the information posted within the sites are archivable for public record and historical posterity. For this reason it is the policy and practice of this company to not delete postings. It is the editor’s discretion to update or edit a story when/if new information becomes available. This may be done by editing the posted story or posting a new “follow-up” story. Media Group 31, LLC or any of its agents have the right to make any changes to this policy. Refer to Use Policy for more information.


Area Churches

Eats & Drinks

Eats & Drinks