County commissioners re-elected.

November 7, 2018

County commissioners re-elected.


HART – Three Oceana County commissioners who were challenged by independent candidates retained their seats for another two years in the midterm election Tuesday, Nov. 6.

It was a tight race in the Fourth District, where incumbent Andrew Sebolt narrowly defeated his challenger Paul Erickson by eight votes, winning 641-633. The district includes Colfax, Leavitt, Elbridge and Ferry townships.

In the Third District, which includes Hart Township and Hart City, incumbent Denny Powers defeated challenger Nathan Munoz 747-653.

In the Seventh District, which includes Grant and Otto townships, a small portion of Shelby Township and a portion of the Village of New Era, incumbent Robert Walker tallied 686 votes. His challengers Rhonda Schilleman and Justin Jimison gained 358 and 200 votes, respectively.

In the bid for mayor in the City of Hart, incumbent Ronald LaPorte held onto the two-year position with 356 votes. Challenger Jason LaFever totaled 281.

Vicki Platt was elected to a four-year term on the Hart City Council with 387 votes. Also Patrice Martin gained a seat on the city council with 314 votes. They beat out James Evans, who had 219 votes, and Edward Simon with 147.

The following are other final results for contested races in Oceana County:

Township officials (partial terms ending Nov. 20, 2020)

Elbridge Township supervisor: Craig Herremans 194, Valarie Hasse 185
Elbridge Township trustee: Jeff Buter 139, Gary Tate 238
Leavitt Township supervisor: John Herremans 100, Emma Kirwin 190
Leavitt Township treasurer: David Kruppe 103, Jenel Tyndall 181

Shelby Public Schools (six-year terms, two seats)
Douglas Fris 1,492, Jeremy Horton 1,802, Jacinto Trevino 1,160.

Hesperia Village president (two-year term): Louis Nemastil 83, Mike Farber 99

Walkerville Village president (two-year term): Ernest Gilbert, Jr., 9, Mark Rainy Metts, Jr., 34, and Levi Porter 30.

Village of Rothbury (four-year term, three seats): Cynthia Cruz 60, James Fekken Jr. 62, Edward Goerbig 48 and Autum Sluyter 58.

Village of Shelby (four-year term, three seats): Steven Crothers 281, William Harris 315, Dan Zaverl 250 and Gary Maclean 158.

Governor (four-year term): Bill Schuette (R) 6,151, Gretchen Whitmer (D) 4,259

Secretary of State (four-year term): Mary Treder Lang (R) 5,988, Jocelyn Benson (D) 4,094

Attorney General (four-year term): Tom Leonard (R) 6,223, Dana Nessel (D) 3,580

US Senator (six-year term): John James (R) 6,263, Debbie Stabenow (D) 4,212

US Representative for Congress (two-year term): Bill Huizenga (R) 6,218, Rob Davidson (D) 4,204.

State Senator for the 34th District (four-year term): Jon Bumstead (R) 6,506, Poppy Sias-Hernandez (D) 3,878. Overall: Bumstead 50,267, 50.69 percent; Sias-Hernandez 45,993, 46.38 percent.

Representative in the State Legislature for the 100th District (two-year term): Scott VanSingel (R) 6,526, Sandy Clarke (D) 3,843. Overall: VanSingel, 22,766, 66.33 percent; Clarke, 11,558, 33.67 percent.

Proposal 1: Yes, 5,176; No, 5,576

Proposal 2: Yes 5,364; No, 5,086

Proposal 3: Yes, 5,898; No, 4,692.

This story is copyrighted © 2018, all rights reserved by Media Group 31, LLC, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454. No portion of this story or images may be reproduced in any way, including print or broadcast, without expressed written consent.


Eats & Drinks

Eats & Drinks

Area Churches