Primary Election candidates and ballot issues

May 9, 2018

Primary Election candidates and ballot issues:


By Rob Alway, Editor-in-Chief.

HART — The following is a list of candidates and proposals that will appear on the Aug. 7 Primary Election. The winners of each respective party’s primary nomination will move onto the Nov. 6 General Election.

100th district representative state legislature (Oceana, Lake, Newaygo counties), 2 year term,

Scott VanSingel

There is only one candidate from each party running for the 100th District State House of Representatives seat, meaning that they will each appear on the Primary ballot in August and again on the General ballot in November.

Republican Scott VanSingel of Grant, is the current 100th House State Representative and was elected in 2016, replacing Jon Bumstead of Newaygo, who reached his limit on terms he could serve.

Sandy Clarke

Sandy Clarke, of Baldwin, is an adjunct professor of political science at West Shore Community College, and is seeking the Democratic nomination.

Republican nomination:

Scott VanSingel, Grant

Democrat nomination:

Sandy Clarke, Baldwin

34th district state senator (Oceana, Newaygo, Muskegon counties), 4 year term

Jon Bumstead

The Republican party has two candidates seeking the nomination for 34th District State

Holly Hughes

Senator seat, to replace Sen. Geoff Hansen of Hart, who has reached the limit of the number of terms he can serve: Holly Hughes, the current representative of the 91st House District, and Jon Bumstead, former representative of the 100th House district.

The Democrat party has three candidates seeking nomination: Collene Lamonte, of Monatague, served one term as the 91st House of Representatives from 2013 to 2015. Poppy Sias-Hernandez of Muskegon is a senior consultant with PoppyConsults of

Collene Lamonte

Muskegon and a graduate research assistant at Western Michigan University, according to her Linkedin profile. Max Riekse of Fruitport, is a former U.S. Army Lt. Colonel who previously sought the 91st House of Representatives seat as a Republican. He has also been listed as a Libertarian in previous news articles.

Republican nomination:

Jon Bumstead, Newaygo

Holly Hughes, Montague

Democrat nomination:

Collene Lamonte, Montague

Poppy Sias-Hernandez, Muskegon

Max Riekse, Fruitport

Oceana County Probate Court, six year term:

Brad Lambrix, incumbent

County Road Commissioner (6 year term, 2 seats available for General Election)

Republican nomination

Bob Carr, Hesperia

Democrat nomination (6 year term):

Cathy Forbes, Hesperia, Democrat

County Commissioner, District 1, Republican nomination (2 year term):

J. Dean Gustafson, Pentwater

Terry Dykema, Hart

County Commissioner, District 2, Republican nomination (2 year term):

Martha Meyette, Hesperia

County Commissioner, District 3, Republican nomination (2 year term):

Denny Powers, Hart

County Commissioner, District 4, Republican nomination (2 year term):

Andrew Sebolt, Hart

County Commissioner, District 5, Republican nomination (2 year term):

Lawrence Byl, Shelby

County Commissioner, District 6, Republican nomination (2 year term):

Jim Brown, Shelby

County Commissioner, District 7, Republican nomination (2 year term):

Robert Walker, Rothbury

Leavitt Township

Supervisor (2 year partial term):

John Herremans, Walkerville, Republican

Trustee (2 year partial term, 1 seat available):

Rosemary Aiken, Republican

Charles Tanner, Republican

Crystal Township

Supervisor (2 year partial term):

Connelly Bowling, Hart, Democrat

Ballot issue

Claybanks Township: Road construction and repair millage for two years, up to 2 mills. The proposal would raise an estimated $125,467 the first year.