Community foundation names new trustees

September 15, 2014

Com FdnSHELBY — The Community Foundation for Oceana County (CFOC) recently named five new trustees, Ron Beeber, Kay Brennan, John Grant, Joan LundBorg and Jean Russell.

They succeed Bill Bluhm, Tim Horton, Ted Hosner, Evelyn Kolbe and Julie Springstead-Waltz. The board members retired as regular practice of rotating the makeup of the board.

“We’ve really appreciated the services of our retiring trustees during their time on the board,” said board Chair Eric Fox. “They’ve been a key part of the oversight team that’s seen the foundation grow at a rapid pace over the last several years, expanding to include 107 named funds.”

The five new trustees bring a strong set of professional skills and community experience to the foundation’s leadership. Beeber, a retired corporate communications and foundation director, is active in the Pentwater Service Club, Pentwater Chamber of Commerce, Pentwater Historical Society and Pentwater Yacht Club. He’s also a CFOC fund holder and Legacy Society member. Brennan, a retired teacher for Fremont Schools, assumed the helm of the Hesperia Community Library as director five years ago and is also the past chair of the Newaygo Council of Arts board. Grant is managing partner of McShane & Bowie Law firm in Grand Rapids, elder of the New Era Reformed Church and Pentwater Yacht Club board member. LundBorg is the retired director of the Hart Area Public Library, Hart Main Street volunteer, Rotarian, and a CFOC Legacy Society member. She is also helping make enhancements to CFOC’s oceana-foundation website. Russell is a retired professor at Washington University, volunteer at the Pentwater chamber, CFOC Legacy Society member, and a leadership team member of the Oceana CAN! (College Access Network).

The foundation also named its executive committee for the next year, including Fox as chair; Bluhm as past chair; Nancy Sterk as vice chair; Mishelle Comstock as secretary; and Mike Sutton as treasurer, as well as Sue Johnson and Dave Roseman.

The CFOC was created in 1989 to improve the quality of life for Oceana residents. The Foundation receives and manages contributions from citizens and organizations that are committed to the future of Oceana County. The foundation has assets of $8.5 million as of the second quarter of 2014, and has provided $3.2 million in grants and scholarships.

The Foundation’s offices are staffed by Executive Director Tammy Carey. More information is available at oceana-foundation and facebook/oceanafoundation.